R. A. PODAR COLLEGE OF COMMERCE & ECONOMICS

(Autonomous)

Prof in charge : Mrs Kavita Jajoo Major M.B.Gavande Gymkhana report and Prize List (2020-2021)

The sportspersons of R.A.Podar College of Commerce and Economics (Autonomous) have excelled each year in different sports events. This academic year too despite the prevailing pandemic, our sports person have continued to be active and have participated in events as the circumstances allowed .Major M.B. Gavande was appointed as Manager to represent University of Mumbai at the Inter university selection trials in the sport of swimming. The trials were held at Bangalore in the month of March 2021.

Some of the notable achievements are listed here.

BASKET BALL

Suzanee P. Pinto:

Selected to represent the Maharashtra state in National coaching Camp held at Bangalore from 15th January to 28th February 2021 for U/23 women's National Basketball team.

CRICKET

Mr. Prince Badiani:

Selected to represent Mumbai Cricket Association selection matches fo U/19. And selected for the Under/19 probable.

SWIMMING

Mr. Hrydransh Mishra:

Selected to represent the Mumbai University for world University selectiontrials held at Bangalore.

TENNIS

Mr. Shivam Kadam:

Selected to represent in all India Lawn Tennis National series U/18 held at Jhajjar, Haryana and secured 2nd place.

Played for ITF World Ranking junior Tennis Championship final qualifying round in Singles. Runners-up in All India Lawn Tennis Championship doubles and semifinalist in Singles held at Ammedabad.

TAEKWONDO

Mrunali S. Harnekar:

Gold at online National TaekwondoPoomsae Championship organised by IndiaTaekwondo. Represented India at Online 2020 world Taekwondo AsiaPoomsae Championship organised by World Taekwondo.

Qualified and represented India at Online 2021 World TaekwondoPoomsae Open Championship organised by World Taekwondo.

Mr. KedarMorvekar:

Academic Year 2018-19

He was a team member representing our College Team, which secured 1st Place in the Zonal team Chess Tournament conducted by the university of Mumbai and the team which secured 3rd place in the Inter-Zonal Team Chess Tournament conducted by the university of Mumbai.

Under-17 State championship Tournament secured 5th rank.

Academic Year 2019-20

He was a Captain of the Team, which secured 1st place at the Zonal and the Inter-Zonal Chess Team Championship conducted by the University of Mumbai.

Played WESTERN ASIAN CHESS CHAMPIONSHIP which was held in Delhi. Represented India for COMMONWEALTH CHESS CHESS CHAMPIONSHIP which was also held in Delhi.

Played ABU DHABI INTERNATIONAL OPEN CHESS CHAMPIONSHIP. Played BENIDORM INTERNATIONAL OPEN CHESS CHAMPIONSHIP at Barcelona, Spain.

Played SITGES INTERNATIONAL OPEN CHESS CHAMPIONSHIP at Spain. Played RILTON INTERNATIONA CUP below-2000 Ratings and secured 1st RANK in Blow-1700ratings.

RECORD HOLDER of 2ndHighest Rating Gainer in a year 2019-2020 in my category 2000+ to 2300 that

Was 490 points which took me from ratings 1637 to 2127 ratings.

Best Chess Player of The Year:

Vishal Vora Trophy awarded to Mr. KedarMorvekar.

Ms. SrushtiS. Haleangadi

2016-17 and 17-18

Won Gold Medal for the college team at District, Division, State level in DSO Tournaments. 2018-19 and 19-20

Won Gold Medal for College team at the inter collegiate tournamentorganised by the university of Mumbai. Selected to represent the Mumbai University and won gold medals in All India University Tournaments. Eon the bronze medal in Khelo India University Games. 19-20

Won bronze medal in Khelo India Youth Games held at Pune in youth girls singles. Won silver medal in North Zone All India Ranking in youth girls singles held at sonipat Haryana.

Won Gold Medal for Maharashtra Team in junior and youth National Championship.

Won Gold for Mumbai In All India University held at ChitkaraUniversity.

Won Silver Medal in Khelo India Youth Games held at Guwahati Assam.

Won Bronze Medal at Khelo India University Games held at Cuttack Odisha.

Won Bronze Medal in Womens Double in Senior Nationals held at Hyderabad.

Best Sportsperson of the Year: Ghulam Shaikh Trophy awarded to Ms. SrushtiS. Haleangadi. & Welingkar prize.